EN | FR

JOAN JONAS : UNE PIONNIÈRE DE LA PERFORMANCE ET DE L'ART VIDÉO

« La voix des enfants doit être incluse dans ce dialogue sur notre avenir et notre environnement, car ce sont eux qui vont en hériter. »

Joan Jonas, intervenante du Summit 2020, est une artiste de renommée mondiale dont le travail englobe un large éventail de médias, notamment la vidéo, la performance, l'installation, le son, le texte et la sculpture. Les expériences et les productions de Joan à la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970 continuent d'être cruciales pour le développement de nombreux genres artistiques contemporains, de la performance et de la vidéo à l'art conceptuel et au théâtre.

Son installation multimédia mêle ses inspirations issues de différentes cultures et traditions. Dans son travail, elle puise dans diverses sources - des contes de fées aux essais, des mythes au folklore local - qu'elle utilise pour aborder des questions contemporaines. Elle utilise des masques, des miroirs et des écrans vidéo pour perturber les conventions de la narration théâtrale et créer une superposition complexe d'images puissantes. À la fois poétique et politique, l'œuvre de Joan traduit son intérêt de toujours pour le mouvement, la musique, l'identité féminine, l'environnement, ainsi que les paysages naturels et urbains. 
 

Lors du Verbier Art Summit 2020, Joan a abordé les dangers actuels du changement climatique et de l'extinction. Ses œuvres récentes combinent vidéo, poésie et recherches sur le monde naturel et les animaux qui l'habitent. Par exemple, son œuvre Moving Off the Land (2016-2018) - une séquence complexe de productions, aussi bien en film qu'en dessin, en performance et en paroles - se concentre sur les océans et les créatures marines. 

L'exposition Joan Jonas est actuellement présentée à la Dia Art Foundation, le musée d'art contemporain de New York dirigé par Jessica Morgan, partenaire du Summit. L'exposition présente trois œuvres de collection de l'artiste, dont l'installation multimédia The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things (2004), commandée comme performance pour Dia Art Foundation en 2005-2006, et deux œuvres récemment acquises, Stage Sets et After Mirage (toutes deux de 1976). Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations sur l'exposition.

Dialogue du Summit avec Joan Jonas| 05:52 | © Crossmark

the shape, the scent...jpeg

Joan Jonas, The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things, 2015. Photo de Paula Court

joan jonas.jpeg

Joan Jonas et Jessica Morgan au Verbier Art Summit 2020. Photo d’Alpimages

pic4.jpeg

AVIDE DE

RESSOURCES

11—12 FEV 2022

 

En savoir plus

2020VerbierArtSummit©Alpimages-0068 (1).jpg

MUSIQUE CLASSIQUE AU COEUR DES ALPES SUISSES

En savoir plus

Page d'accueil

EN | FR

JOAN JONAS: A PIONEER OF PERFORMANCE AND VIDEO ART

“Children’s voices should be included in this dialogue about our future and our environment because they’re the ones who are going to inherit it.”

2020 Summit speaker Joan Jonas is a world-renowned artist whose work encompasses a wide range of media including video, performance, installation, sound, text, and sculpture. Joan’s experiments and productions in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s continue to be crucial to the development of many contemporary art genres, from performance and video to conceptual art and theatre.

Her multimedia installation mixes together her inspirations from different cultures and traditions. In her work, she draws from diverse sources–from fairy tales to essays, from myths to local folklore–which she uses to address contemporary issues. She uses masks, mirrors and video screens to disrupt the conventions of theatrical storytelling and to create a complex layering of powerful images. Both poetic and political, Joan's work conveys her lifelong interest in movement, music, female identity, the environment, as well as natural and urban landscapes. 

 

At the 2020 Verbier Art Summit, Joan addressed the present dangers of climate change and extinction. Her recent works combine video, poetry, and research on the natural world and the animals that inhabit it. For example, her piece Moving Off the Land (2016–2018)–a complex sequence of productions, both in film and in drawing, in performance and in the spoken word–focuses on the oceans and marine creatures. 

The exhibition Joan Jonas is currently on view at Dia Art Foundation, the contemporary art museum in New York headed by Summit partner Jessica Morgan. The show features three collection works by the artist, including the multimedia installation The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things (2004), which was commissioned as a performance for Dia Art Foundation in 2005–06, and two recently acquired works, Stage Sets and After Mirage (both from 1976). Click here for more information about the exhibition.

Summit Dialogue with Joan Jonas| 05:52 | © Crossmark

the shape, the scent...jpeg

Joan Jonas, The Shape, the Scent, the Feel of Things, 2015. Photo by Paula Court

joan jonas.jpeg

Joan Jonas and Jessica Morgan at the 2020 Verbier Art Summit. Photo by Alpimages

pic4.jpeg

 

RESOURCE HUNGRY

11—12 FEB 2022

Learn more

2020VerbierArtSummit©Alpimages-0068 (1).jpg

 

CLASSICAL MUSIC IN THE HEART OF THE SWISS ALPS

Learn more

Return to the home page

Home