EN | FR

RIRKRIT TIRAVANIJA:
RECRÉER LA VIE AUTOUR DE L'ART

"Ce n'est pas ce que vous voyez qui est important, mais ce qui a lieu entre les gens.”

Né à Buenos Aires en Argentine, l'artiste thaïlandais Rirkrit Tiravanija vit et travaille désormais entre Chiang Mai en Thaïlande et New York aux États-Unis. Après une vie divisée entre les continents, Rirkrit a fini par remettre en question toutes les frontières, tant les réelles que les théoriques. À la suite de ces expériences, il a développé un langage artistique capable de brouiller les frontières traditionnelles entre l’art et la vie.

 

Rirkrit valorise le pouvoir de la solidarité et de l'action collective. Après avoir expérimenté différentes formes d'engagement social, Rirkrit a décidé de réorienter l'art des objets aux actions, en orchestrant des situations artistiques qui nécessitent notre coopération pour libérer leur potentiel.

Dans les années quatre-vingt-dix, Rirkrit a commencé à créer des rencontres inattendues, utilisant l'interaction humaine comme leur moteur principal. Fondant souvent ses interventions artistiques sur les actes de cuisiner et de manger, Rirkrit utilise symboliquement la nourriture comme catalyseur de la sociabilité et de l'expérience collective. Partageant l'action de produire et de consommer quelque chose collectivement, le public participe activement au processus de création artistique: libérés de leur statut de spectateurs, les participants sont transformés en acteurs et en producteurs.

Grâce à l’art de Rirkrit, nous pouvons nous retrouver dans un moment de véritable union partagée: une réponse efficace à notre époque d’aliénation extensive et de mondialisation superficielle, où tout le monde semble être partout, mais jamais vraiment ‘ici’. Les intimes rencontres sociales de Rirkrit nous demandent d’être présents et de regarder avec des yeux nouveaux nos voisins, en requalifiant le sens de l’interaction humaine de manière plus spontanée et plus novatrice.

ARTBASEL2015_MEG_09_453-1600x1065.jpg
DSC3628-679x1024.jpg
I-fornelli-di-Rikrit.jpg

Rirkrit Tiravanija, Do we dream under the same sky, Art Basel 2015

Photo © Art Basel

KEY INSIGHTS OF EACH SUMMIT ARE DOCUMENTED IN AN ANNUAL PUBLICATION

Find out more

WE ARE MANY

ART, THE POLITICAL AND MULTIPLE TRUTHS

 

1-2 February, 2019

Go to page

Return to the home page

EN | FR

RIRKRIT TIRAVANIJA:

RECREATING LIFE AROUND ART

“It is not what you see that is important, but what takes place between people.”

 

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, the Thai artist Rirkrit Tiravanija now works and lives between Chiang Mai, Thailand, and New York, US. After a lifetime divided between continents, Rirkrit came to question borders and frontiers, both real and theoretical. Following these experiences, he developed an artistic language capable of blurring the traditional boundaries between art and life.

 

Rirkrit values the power of solidarity and collective action. Experimenting with different forms of social engagement, he decided to shift art from objects to actions, orchestrating artistic situations which demand our cooperation to release their potential.

 

In the nineties, Rirkrit started to create unexpected encounters, using human interaction as the primary fuel. Often revolving around the act of cooking and eating, he uses food as a catalyst for sociability and collective experience. Sharing the act of producing and consuming something collectively, the audience actively participates in the creative process: liberated from their status as viewers, participants are transformed into actors and makers.

 

Through Rirkrit’s art, people can find themselves in a shared moment of true togetherness. An effective answer to our times of progressive alienation and superficial globalisation, where everyone seems to be everywhere, but never really ‘there’. Rirkrit’s intimate social encounters ask us to be present and to relate to our neighbours with new eyes, requalifying the meaning of human interaction on more spontaneous, more innovative terms.

Rirkrit Tiravanija, Do we dream under the same sky, Art Basel 2015

Photo © Art Basel

Books
Home
Subscribe to the Newsletter

Contact
 

Verbier Art Summit    
Case Postale 435
1936 Verbier
Switzerland

 

Tel : + 41 79 305 32 70
Tel : + 31 68 370 90 34  

info@verbierartsummit.org

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle