EN | FR

DÉBAT DE PÉKIN

 
 

Beijing Debate + live Q&A | Video par Crossmark | 51:56 mins

Résumé des points clés du débat de Pékin :

  • Cette période de distanciation physique a poussé à repenser les valeurs au sein des institutions artistiques.
     

  • La pandémie a accéléré l'utilisation de nouveaux supports numériques tels que la réalité virtuelle, la réalité augmentée et la réalité mélangée.
     

  • Les institutions artistiques ne peuvent plus agir localement sans penser globalement.

 
 

​Le débat de Pékin 51:56 mins, est animé par la fondatrice du Summit Anneliek Sijbrandij et a mis en avant les musées partenaires du Summit :

04:07 – Beatrix Ruf, conservatrice basée à Amsterdam, aux Pays-Bas

12:50 – Philip Tinari, directeur du Centre d'art contemporain UCCA à Pékin, Chine.

15:58 – Daniel Birnbaum, directeur de Acute Art à Londres, Royaume-Uni

27:10 – Panel de discussion 

46:32 – Questions-réponses en direct

 
 
 
 
 
 

Le débat a poursuivi la discussion sur l'une des questions de Jessica Morgan, sur Avide de Ressources et centrée sur l’ESPOIR : « Pouvons-nous réévaluer les espaces, les habitudes, les structures et les systèmes de la culture pour trouver de nouvelles façons d'opérer et de nouvelles façons d'expérimenter ? » Les intervenants ont discuté de la relation entre la pandémie, le changement climatique et les nouvelles technologies : le virus Covid-19 nous a fait prendre conscience que nous sommes tous connectés en tant qu'êtres humains, et surtout que les changements opérés dans les institutions artistiques en raison de la pandémie mondiale, peuvent également être utilisés pour lutter contre la crise climatique. Nous devons tous nous habituer à un monde beaucoup plus virtuel, en explorant le lien entre les nouvelles technologies et la durabilité.

 

Cette période de distanciation physique a poussé à repenser les valeurs au sein des institutions artistiques, en soulignant le besoin d'attention et d'intentionnalité dans les systèmes de culture au sein desquels elles opèrent.

 
 

Beatrix, qui a co-conçu en 2017, en tant que directrice du Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, le format du Verbier Art Summit inaugural, réfléchit à la manière dont la pandémie a remis en question ce que agir signifie pour une institution artistique internationale lorsque les échanges physiques sont limités au niveau international. En outre, les confinements nationaux et le travail à domicile ont intensifié la responsabilité et le rôle des institutions artistiques en tant que gardiens de leur personnel, de leur communauté et de leurs artistes. Par exemple, le Garage Museum of Contemporary Art de Moscou, où Beatrix conseille sur les stratégies et les programmes, a mis en place un programme de soutien aux artistes locaux, ainsi qu'une cantine qui fournit des repas aux membres de son personnel, aux artistes et aux personnes dans le besoin à Moscou. Philip a ajouté que l'UCCA a stratégiquement recentré son attention sur le pouvoir de l'œuvre d'art, puisque l'art est toujours capable de voyager jusqu'au musée, même si les artistes ne le peuvent pas. Cela a favorisé une manière plus intentionnelle de travailler au sein du musée - faire moins, avec un peu plus de soin et de planification, alors que le rythme du « plus, maintenant, plus vite et plus grand » dans le monde de l'art a été suspendu.

 

Beatrix Ruf s'exprimant au Verbier Art Summit 2017.

Daniel Birnbaum discute de l'exposition conjointe d'Acute Art Mirage: Contemporary Art in Augmented Reality avec le Centre d'art contemporain de l'UCCA, Pékin.

La pandémie a accéléré l'utilisation de nouveaux supports numériques tels que la réalité virtuelle (RV), la réalité augmentée (RA) et la réalité mélangée (RM), mettant en évidence leur potentiel artistique, institutionnel et écologique.

L'utilisation d'œuvres d'art en réalité virtuelle, en réalité augmentée et en réalité mélangée réduit considérablement la nécessité de voyager, apportant ainsi une solution à ce que Daniel (directeur du musée partenaire du Summit 2018 L'Art dans l'Ère Digitale) appelle un modèle « écologiquement désastreux » de foires et de biennales d'art internationales contemporaines. Cependant, Daniel nous rappelle également que la sphère numérique n'est pas encore totalement inoffensive sur le plan écologique et que des technologies telles que la RV sont encore assez difficiles à distribuer en raison du besoin de casques et d'équipements lourds. En revanche, les œuvres d'art de la RA ont connu un grand succès en termes de portée et d'accessibilité grâce à l'utilisation généralisée des téléphones portables. Daniel et Philip se sont accordés à dire que les nouvelles possibilités visuelles offertes par ces moyens ont suscité de nouvelles questions sur la manière dont les plateformes et les espaces institutionnels traditionnels peuvent se développer en réponse.

 

Olafur Eliasson, WUNDERKAMMER, 2020.

Daniel Birnbaum discute du travail de son studio Acute Art.

Bien que les institutions artistiques aient mis davantage l'accent sur le « local », l'expérience planétaire et la signification globale de la pandémie ont montré que nous ne pouvons plus agir localement sans penser globalement.

Daniel réfléchit à la tendance actuelle d'acheter des œuvres d'art plus locales et à la manière dont ces nouveaux localismes pourraient conduire à mettre l'accent sur les initiatives locales en matière d'environnement. Cela pourrait offrir une alternative plus durable au « modèle d'exposition à grand succès » qui est devenu dépendant du tourisme (et des événements) de masse. Cependant, Daniel pense également que le discours et les conversations internationales sont importants pour éviter de nouveaux nationalismes, faisant écho à la déclaration de Beatrix selon laquelle nous devons « être locaux, mais penser à la planète ». Commentant la diversité des origines des conservateurs du Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund basée au Pays-Bas, Beatrix ajoute que l'un des grands défis des nouveaux localismes sera de ne pas se faire une fausse idée du « local », car le local est déjà souvent très international : la pandémie a clairement montré que nous sommes tous connectés.

 

Le Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund a pour but d'aider les artistes à réaliser des productions ambitieuses qui seront données à la collection d'art nationale néerlandaise. Pour en savoir plus sur le Fund, cliquez ici.

Pour en savoir plus sur la collaboration de Daniel et Philip sur l'exposition Mirage: Contemporary Art in Augmented Reality (28 novombre 2020 – 10 février 2021), cliquez ici.

Le laboratoire UCCA du Centre d'art contemporain de l'UCCA à Pékin organisera la première exposition d'art NFT au monde intitulée «Virtual Niche—Have you ever seen memes in the mirror? » du 26 mars au 4 avril 2021. Les NFT (jetons non fongibles) sont des actifs numériques uniques créés avec la technologie blockchain, qui permettent à une personne de posséder une œuvre d'art numérique. Présentant les œuvres de plus de 60 artistes, l'exposition vise à connecter le monde de l'art institutionnel avec la communauté crypto. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

 

Unreal City (8 décembre 2020 - 5 janvier 2021) la plus grande exposition de RA de Londres a été produite par Acute Art et Dazed Media. Unreal City a ensuite été mis à la disposition du public depuis leurs maisons en réponse aux nouvelles mesures de confinement à Londres. L'exposition Unreal City at Home présentait des œuvres de KAWS, Nina Chanel Abney, Olafur Eliasson et Cao Fei. Pour voir leurs œuvres RA, téléchargez l'application Acute Art ici.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CURRICULUM VITAE

Beatrix Ruf

Directrice Strategique & Partenaire 2017

Beatrix Ruf est commissaire d’exposition établie à Amsterdam, Pays-Bas. Elle a contribué à développer le format du premier Verbier Art Summit en 2017. Elle collabore actuellement aux stratégies et aux programmes du Garage Museum of Contemporary Art à Moscou et siège au conseil d'administration de la Hartwig Art Foundation, basée à La Haye. Beatrix a été directrice du Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam de novembre 2014 à janvier 2018. De septembre 2001 à octobre 2014, Beatrix a été directrice et curatrice en chef de la Kunsthalle Zürich, supervisant un important projet d'expansion lancé en 2003 et completé en 2012. Parmi ses positions professionelles precedentes figurent: conservatrice au Kunstmuseum Thurgau à Warth de 1994 à 1998, directrice du Kunsthaus Glarus de 1998 à 2001. En 2006, Beatrix a présidé la troisième édition de la Tate Triennial à Londres et elle a été également co-curatrice de la triennale de Yokohama en 2008. De 1995 à 2014, elle a été conservatrice de la collection Ringier et, depuis 2010, elle est membre du groupe de recherche et reflection du LUMA. En 2013, Beatrix a co-fondé POOL, un programme de formation curatoriale de troisième cycle à Zurich. 

Photo par Federik Jacobovitz. 

 
 
 
 

Daniel Birnbaum

Partenaire 2018

Daniel Birnbaum est le directeur et conservateur de Acute Art à Londres, au Royaume-Uni. Daniel était auparavant directeur de Moderna Museet à Stockholm de 2010 à 2018. De 2000 à 2010, il a été recteur de la Städelschule à Francfort et directeur de la Kunsthalle Portikus de Francfort. Il est rédacteur en chef pour Artforum à New York et il a notamment organisé plusieurs grandes expositions, dont “Airs de Paris” au Centre Pompidou à Paris (en coopération avec Christine Macel) en 2007. Birnbaum a été le directeur de la Biennale de Venise en 2009. Il est l'auteur de nombreux ouvrages d'art et de philosophie et il est co-éditeur (avec Isabelle Graw) de la série editoriale “Insitut für Kunstkritik”, publiée par Sternberg Press. Il est membre du conseil d'administration de Nobel Media, l'organisation qui gère les événements entourant les prix Nobel.

Photo par Åsa Lundén.

 
 
 
 

Philip Tinari

Directeur et PDG du Centre d'art contemporain UCCA

Philip Tinari est directeur de l'UCCA, Pékin, l'institution située au cœur du 798 Art District de Pékin, depuis fin 2011. Au cours de son mandat, il a organisé plus de soixante expositions et a mis sur pied un large éventail de programmes publics et d'initiatives de développement. Son programme a permis de faire venir en Chine des personnalités internationales telles que Robert Rauschenberg, Elmgreen & Dragset, Haegue Yang, William Kentridge, Taryn Simon et Tino Sehgal, et de suivre l'évolution de la scène artistique chinoise à travers des rétrospectives et des études sur des artistes tels que Zhao Bandi, Zeng Fanzhi, Liu Wei, Xu Zhen, Wang Keping, Wang Xingwei, Kan Xuan et Gu Dexin, ainsi que des expositions consacrées à des artistes émergents comme The New Normal : Art, China, and 2017, ON | OFF : China's Young Artists in Concept and Practice (2013), et la série d'expositions en cours New Directions. En 2009, il a lancé LEAP, un magazine d'art bilingue à diffusion internationale publié par le Modern Media Group. Il collabore à la rédaction d'Artforum et a été le rédacteur fondateur de l'édition chinoise en ligne de ce magazine. Diplômé de Duke et Harvard, il est actuellement candidat au doctorat en histoire de l'art à Oxford. Philip est le co-commissaire, avec Alexandra Munroe et Hou Hanru, de l'exposition Art and China after 1989 : Theater of the World, qui a ouvert ses portes au Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum en octobre 2017.

 
Photo par Wang Jun. 
 
 
 
virtual Verbier Art Summit.gif
Screen Shot 2021-02-04 at 18.31.49 copy.
Page d'accueil
S'abonner pour recevoir notre newsletter.

Contacts
 

Verbier Art Summit    
Case Postale 435
1936 Verbier
Switzerland

 

Tel : + 41 79 305 32 70
Tel : + 31 68 370 90 34  

info@verbierartsummit.org

disclaimer - privacy - environment

© Verbier Art Summit

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle

EN | FR

BEIJING DEBATE

 

Beijing Debate + live Q&A | Video by Crossmark | 51:56 mins

Beijing Debate key summary:

  • These times of physical distance have propelled a re-thinking of values within art institutions.

 

  • The pandemic has fast-forwarded the use of new digital mediums such as Virtual Reality, Augmented Reality and Mixed Reality.
     

  • Art institutions can no longer act locally without thinking globally.

 

The Beijing Debate 51:56 mins, is moderated by Summit founder Anneliek Sijbrandij and featured the Summit’s museum partners:

04:07 – Beatrix Ruf, curator based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands

12:50 – Philip Tinari, director of UCCA Center for Contemporary Art in Beijing, China

15:58 – Daniel Birnbaum, director of Acute Art in London, United Kingdom

27:10 – Panel discussion

46:32 – Live Q&A

The Debate continued the discussion on one of Jessica Morgan’s 2020 Resource Hungry questions centred around HOPE: “Can we reassess the spaces, habits, structures and systems of culture to find new ways to operate and new ways to experience?” The panellists discussed the relationship between the pandemic, climate change and new technologies: the Covid-19 virus made us realise that we are all connected as humans, and most importantly that the changes made in art institutions due to the global pandemic, can also be used to fight against the climate crisis. We all have to get used to a much more virtual world, exploring the connection between new technologies and sustainability.

These times of physical distance have propelled a re-thinking of values within art institutions, emphasizing the need for more care and intentionality in the systems of culture in which they operate.

Beatrix, who co-designed the format of the inaugural Verbier Art Summit in 2017 as director of Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, reflects on how the pandemic has called into question what it means to act as an international art institution when you cannot have physical exchange internationally. Additionally, the government lockdowns and working from home have intensified art institutions’ responsibility and role as caretaker to its staff, community and artists. For example, the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art in Moscow, where Beatrix advises on strategies and programmes, set up a programme to support local artists, as well as a canteen which provided food to its staff members, artists and people in need in Moscow. Philip added that the UCCA has strategically recentred it’s focus on the power of the artwork itself, as the art is still able to travel to the museum, even though the artists cannot. This fostered a more intentional way of working within the museum - to do less, with a bit more care and planning whilst the rhythm of “more, now, faster and bigger” in the art world has been suspended.

Beatrix Ruf speaking at the 2017 Verbier Art Summit. 

 

Daniel Birnbaum discussing Acute Art's joint exhibition Mirage: Contemporary Art in Augmented Reality with the UCCA Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing. 

 

The pandemic has fast-forwarded the use of new digital mediums such as Virtual Reality (VR), Augmented Reality (AR) and Mixed Reality (MR) showcasing their artistic, institutional and ecological potential.

The use of AR, VR and MR artworks drastically reduces the need for travel, thus providing a solution to what Daniel (partnering museum director of the 2018 Summit Art in the Digital Age) calls an ‘ecologically disastrous’ model of contemporary international art fairs and biennales. However, Daniel also reminds us that the digital sphere still isn’t completely ecologically harmless and that technologies such as VR are still rather difficult to distribute due to the need of headsets and heavy equipment. On a positive note, AR artworks have been extremely successful in terms of their reach and accessibility due to the widespread use of mobile phones. Daniel and Philip agreed that the new visual possibilities provided by these mediums have sparked further questions about how traditional institutional platforms and spaces may develop in response.

Olafur Eliasson, WUNDERKAMMER, 2020.

 

Daniel Birnbaum discussing the work of his studio Acute Art. 

 

Although art institutions have developed a stronger emphasis on 'the local', the planetary experience and global meaning of the pandemic has highlighted that we can no longer act locally without thinking globally.

Daniel reflects on the current trend of buying more local artworks and how these new localisms could lead to a new insistence on grassroots initiatives regarding the environment. This could provide a more sustainable alternative to the ‘blockbuster exhibition model’ that has become dependent on mass tourism (and events). However, Daniel also believes that international discourse and conversations are important to avoid new nationalisms, echoing Beatrix’s statement that we have “to be local, but think about the planet”. Commenting on the diverse backgrounds of the Netherlands-based The Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund curators, Beatrix adds that one of the big challenges of new localisms will be to not get the wrong idea about the ‘local’, as the local is quite often very international already: the pandemic has made it clear that we are all connected.

 

The Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund aims to help artists realise ambitious productions that will be donated to the Dutch national art collection. To learn more about the Fund click here.

To learn more about Daniel and Philip’s collaboration for the Mirage: Contemporary Art in Augmented Reality exhibition (28 November 2020 – 10 February 2021) click here

The UCCA Center for Contemporary Art's UCCA Lab in Beijing will stage the world's first NFT art exhibition entitled "Virtual Niche—Have you ever seen memes in the mirror?” from 26 March – 4 April 2021. NFT's (non-fungible tokens) are unique digital assets made with blockchain technology, that allow one person to own a digital artwork. By showcasing the works of more than 60 artists, the exhibition aims to connect the institutional art world with the crypto community. Click here to read more.

Unreal City (8 December 2020 – 5 January 2021) London’s biggest AR exhibition produced by Acute Art and Dazed Media, was eventually made available to the public from the safety of their homes in response to the new lockdown measures in London. The Unreal City at Home exhibition featured works by KAWS, Nina Chanel Abney, Olafur Eliasson and Cao Fei. To view their AR artworks download the Acute Art app here.

 

CURRICULUM VITAE

Beatrix Ruf

Strategic Director & 2017 Partner

Beatrix Ruf is a curator based in Amsterdam, the Netherlands and co-designed the format of the inaugural Verbier Art Summit in 2017. She is currently a member of the Board of Directors of the Hartwig Art Foundation in Amsterdam and works on strategies and programmes at the Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow, Russia. Beatrix served as the Director of the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam from November 2014 to January 2018. From September 2001 to October 2014 Beatrix was Director and Chief Curator of Kunsthalle Zürich, overseeing a substantial expansion project launched in 2003 and concluded in 2012. Former occupations include: Curator at Kunstmuseum Thurgau, Warth from 1994-1998, Director of the Kunsthaus Glarus, Glarus from 1998-2001. In 2006 she curated the third edition of the Tate Triennial in London, she was Co-Curator of the Yokohama Triennial in 2008. From 1995 to 2014 she has been the curator of the Ringier Collection and since 2010 she is a member of the think tank core group of the LUMA. In 2013 Beatrix co-founded POOL, a postgraduate curatorial program in Zürich. 

Photo by Federik Jacobovitz. 

 
 
 

Daniel Birnbaum

2018 Partner

Daniel Birnbaum is the director and curator of Acute Art in London, UK. Daniel was previously the director of Moderna Museet in Stockholm from 2010 to 2018. From 2000 to 2010 he was the Rector of Städelschule in Frankfurt and Director of its kunsthalle Portikus. He is contributing editor of Artforum in New York and has curated a number of large exhibitions, including Airs de Paris at Centre Pompidou in Paris (in co-operation with Christine Marcel) in 2007. Daniel was the director of the 2009 Venice Biennale. He is the author of numerous books on art and philosophy and is the co-editor (with Isabelle Graw) of the Institut für Kunstkritik series published by Sternberg Press. He is on the board of directors of Nobel Media, the organisation that manages all the events surrounding the Nobel prizes. 

Photo by Åsa Lundén

 
 
 

Philip Tinari

Director and CEO of the UCCA Center of Contemporary Art

Philip Tinari has served as director of UCCA, Beijing, the institution at the heart of Beijing's 798 Art District, since late 2011. During his tenure, he has mounted more than sixty exhibitions and organized a wide range of public programs and development initiatives. His program has brought to China international figures including Robert Rauschenberg, Elmgreen & Dragset, Haegue Yang, William Kentridge, Taryn Simon, and Tino Sehgal, and has tracked China's evolving art scene through retrospectives and surveys of artists including Zhao Bandi, Zeng Fanzhi, Liu Wei, Xu Zhen, Wang Keping, Wang Xingwei, Kan Xuan, and Gu Dexin, as well as exhibitions focused on emerging artists such as The New Normal: Art, China, and 2017, ON | OFF: China's Young Artists in Concept and Practice (2013), and the ongoing exhibition series New Directions. In 2009, he launched LEAP, an internationally distributed, bilingual art magazine published by the Modern Media Group. He is a contributing editor of Artforum, and was founding editor of that magazine's online Chinese edition. He holds degrees from Duke and Harvard, and is currently a D.Phil. candidate in art history at Oxford. Philip is cocurator, with Alexandra Munroe and Hou Hanru, of the exhibition Art and China after 1989: Theater of the World, which opened at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in October 2017.

Photo by Wang Jun. 

 
 
virtual Verbier Art Summit.gif
Screen Shot 2021-02-04 at 18.31.49 copy.
Home
Subscribe to the Newsletter

Contact
 

Verbier Art Summit    
Case Postale 435
1936 Verbier
Switzerland

 

Tel : + 41 79 305 32 70
Tel : + 31 68 370 90 34  

info@verbierartsummit.org

disclaimer - privacy - environment

© Verbier Art Summit

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle