EN | FR

DÉBAT DE SÃO PAULO

 

Débat de São Paulo + questions-réponses en direct | Vidéo de Crossmark | 57:54 min

Points clés du débat de São Paulo :

  • Une approche intersectionnelle est nécessaire pour comprendre pleinement la crise écologique.

  • Nous devons décoloniser nos connaissances.

  • L'art peut donner une voix aux épistémologies supprimées des communautés noires et indigènes.

Le débat de São Paulo (57:54 min) est animé par Jochen Volz, partenaire du Summit 2019 et directeur de la Pinacoteca de São Paulo, et présente :

3:54 – Djamila Ribeiro, philosophe brésilienne

6:09 – Naine Terena, artiste et éducatrice indigène

7:23 – Discussion de groupe

45:09 – Questions-réponses en direct

 

Le débat de São Paulo a examiné comment le fait de donner la parole aux connaissances des communautés noires et indigènes peut contribuer à un monde plus égalitaire et durable. Au lieu d'une perspective hiérarchique, les panélistes ont plaidé pour une vision circulaire dans laquelle tous les aspects de l'existence sont interconnectés et mutuellement dépendants. L'art a le pouvoir d'amplifier les modes de pensée alternatifs et d'offrir de nouvelles visions pour un avenir différent.

Une approche intersectionnelle est nécessaire pour comprendre pleinement la crise écologique, car les problèmes environnementaux sont liés à des facteurs tels que le sexe, la race et la classe.

Djamila at 2020 Summit.jpg

Djamila Ribeiro au Verbier Art Summit 2020

Djamila Ribeiro, l'une des leaders les plus influentes du mouvement afro-brésilien de défense des droits des femmes, nous invite à formuler la crise écologique actuelle en termes intersectionnels : les oppressions structurelles qui affectent la société se croisent les unes les autres. Par conséquent, les questions liées à l'environnement sont liées à d'autres facteurs tels que la race, le sexe et la classe, comme elle l'a expliqué avec force lors de son intervention au Verbier Art Summit 2020.

Elle donne un exemple d'analyse intersectionnelle en affirmant que pendant près de quatre siècles, les personnes d'origine africaine ont été traitées comme des « marchandises » au Brésil et ailleurs dans le monde. Leur exploitation économique a engendré des problèmes qui se posent encore aujourd'hui. Les Afro-Brésiliens appauvris ont du mal à trouver un logement convenable. Ils n'ont d'autre choix que de construire des maisons contraires aux règles dans des endroits souvent protégés sur le plan environnemental, ce qui contribue au processus de « favelisation ». Au lieu de mettre en place un plan de logement qui puisse inclure ces populations, le gouvernement les retire tout simplement des zones protégées, pénalisant ainsi une catégorie déjà vulnérable. Au lieu de se concentrer sur des problèmes individuels, Djamila suggère de comprendre que le véritable problème est le capitalisme. Historiquement, les propriétaires des moyens de production n'ont jamais tenu compte des préoccupations écologiques. Le colonialisme et l'exploitation économique de pays tels que le Brésil ont par conséquent conduit à l'exploitation de l'environnement.

 

Nous devons décoloniser nos connaissances et écouter les enseignements des communautés noires et indigènes qui considèrent la vie humaine en harmonie avec la nature.

Naine, Jochen & Anneliek.jpg

Naine Terena, Jochen Volz et Anneliek Sijbrandij au Verbier Art Summit 2019

Djamila suggère que les connaissances des Afro-Brésiliens sont souvent considérées comme « folkloriques » en raison des sentiments coloniaux dominants attachés à leur culture. Par exemple, l'histoire des Quilombolas, des communautés noires du Brésil qui ont refusé l'esclavage et ont établi des colonies indépendantes, reste invisible aujourd'hui. Djamila pense que pour créer une société plus égalitaire et durable, nous devrions nous tourner vers les enseignements de ces communautés noires.

Par exemple, le Candomblé, une religion afro-brésilienne populaire, encourage les gens à vivre en harmonie avec la nature, car les éléments naturels comme la mer sont considérés comme des divinités. Elle adopte également une vision circulaire de la vie, dans laquelle les nouvelles et les anciennes générations sont mutuellement dépendantes. En outre, elle est valorisante pour les femmes, car dans les religions d'origine africaine, les femmes sont prêtres et donc responsables de la sauvegarde de ce savoir ancestral. Naine Terena, artiste et éducatrice du peuple indigène Terena de l'État du Mato Grosso au Brésil, développe ce point. À l'instar du savoir afro-brésilien, les peuples indigènes ont une vision holistique de la vie qui englobe tous les processus de création, ce qu'elle a également expliqué dans son intervention au Summit 2021. Naine affirme que l'art n'est pas séparable des autres aspects de la vie pour les peuples indigènes: « Pour entrer dans le musée, le processus que nous suivons est le même que celui que nous suivons lorsque nous récupérons nos terres. » Naine nous met en garde contre le fait que l'inclusion croissante des musées ne devienne une « tendance » et que nous devrions nous assurer que les institutions et les législateurs continuent à inclure les peuples indigènes dans leurs structures.

L'art peut donner une voix aux épistémologies réprimées des communautés noires et indigènes en communiquant de nouvelles vérités d'une manière profonde.

Vexoa.jpeg

Exposition Véxoa: We know, Pinacothèque de São Paulo, 2020

L'exposition organisée en octobre dernier par Naine, intitulée Véxoa, à la Pinacothèque de São Paulo, a marqué une étape importante pour la représentation des indigènes dans les arts. L'exposition porte sur l'activisme et la résistance et représente les valeurs de solidarité et de collectivisme des peuples indigènes. Dans un monde en proie aux « fake news », Naine affirme que « l'art est l'outil le plus accessible à la population », car il a le pouvoir de toucher les gens de manière profonde. Dans son travail d'éducatrice artistique, elle a été témoin de la façon dont « l'art empêche le vidage de nos territoires et de nos corps. » Il utilise des sensations pour faire bouger les corps, afin qu'ils puissent faire émerger la vérité qui sommeillait en eux. L'art peut donc devenir un « remède pour l'humanité. »

Djamila est d'accord avec Naine en ajoutant que la philosophie est complétée par l'art. Tous deux peuvent nous aider à repenser nos valeurs en nous amenant à remettre en question nos privilèges. Djamila conclut en soulignant que ce processus de désapprentissage entraîne un inconfort qui est nécessaire pour que le changement ait lieu.

vexoa.jpeg

Exposition Véxoa: We know, Pinacothèque de Sao Paulo, 2020. Photo de Levi Fanan

Le nouveau rapport The Art of Zero, créé par Julie's Bicycle, partenaire du Summit, a pour but de susciter une conversation sur le changement climatique et les arts visuels. L'objectif de cette étude est de modéliser les émissions de gaz à effet de serre indicatives du secteur mondial des arts visuels et d'identifier les possibilités de réduction. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

natalie ball.jpeg

Artist Natalie Ball

En 2021, le partenaire du Summit, la Fondation 3-D Verbier, expérimente un nouveau format pour son programme de résidence : une résidence en ligne avec l'artiste amérindienne Natalie Ball. De l'utilisation d'Instagram comme carnet de croquis aux discussions ouvertes en ligne et aux événements virtuels, la résidence en ligne existera sous différents formats numériques tout au long de l'année. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

L'exposition Véxoa: We Know, organisée par Naine Terena à la Pinacothèque de São Paulo, s'inscrit dans l'intention du musée de construire un récit plus diversifié et inclusif autour de sa collection. Le projet de conservation aborde la question de la représentativité des artistes féminines, des Afro-descendants et des indigènes dans la collection du musée et examine la relation entre l'art et la société. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus.

Adrian Lahoud talk.png

Présentation de Adrian Lahoud au Verbier Art Summit 2020

Lors de son intervention au Verbier Art Summit 2020, Adrian Lahoud a évoqué le cas exceptionnel des Aborigènes d'Australie qui ont présenté une peinture collective de leur territoire pour prouver une revendication territoriale historique. Regardez son intervention ici.

CURRICULUM VITAE

Djamila%20Ribeiro%202020VerbierArtSummit

Djamila Ribeiro

Djamila détient un Master en Philosophie Politique de l’Université Fédérale de São Paulo. Elle est un auteur acclamé pour ses livres tels que Quem tem medo do Feminismo Negro? (“Qui a peur du Féminisme Noir?”), Lugar de Fala (“Le Lieu de la Parole”), et Pequeno Manual Antirracista (“Petit Manuel Antiraciste”). Djamila est également éditeur en chef de la Collection Feminismos Plurais (“Féminins Pluriels”), éditeur d’écrivains afro descendants à des prix abordables et une langue accessible. Elle est la fondatrice et directrice de “Sueli Carmeiro” qui publie les ouvrages de femmes noires d’Amérique Latine et des Caraïbes. Elle a récemment reçu le Prins Claus Award pour sa contribution exceptionnelle dans le domaine de la culture et du développement.

Photo par Alpimages

Jochen%20Volz%20Portrait%20%C2%A9FREDERI

Jochen Volz

Jochen Volz is the General Director of the Pinacoteca de São Paulo. In 2017, he was the curator of the Brazilian Pavilion for the 53rd Biennale di Venezia. He was the curator of the 32nd Bienal de São Paulo in 2016. He served as Head of Programmes at the Serpentine Galleries in London (2012-2015); Artistic Director at Instituto Inhotim (2005-2012); and curator at Portikus in Frankfurt (2001-2004). Volz was co-curator of the international exhibition of the 53rd Bienal de Veneza (2009) and the 1st Aichi Triennial in Nagoya (2010) and guest curator of the 27th Bienal de São Paulo (2006), besides having contributed to other exhibitions throughout the world. He holds a masters in art history, communication and pedagogy by the Humboldt University in Berlin (1998). Lives in São Paulo.

Photo par Alpimages

Naine%20Terena%20and%20Teo%20de%20Mirand

Naine Terena

Naine Terena belongs to the Terena indigenous people of the state of Mato Grosso do Sul.  She has a doctorate (PhD) in education, a Master’s degree in Art and a degree in Social Communication. Terena received a Postdoctoral fellowship in education (July 2015) at Lêtece—UFMT and currently lectures at the Catholic University of Mato Grosso in the areas of Social Communication and Indigenous Education.  She is a Cultural/Artist Producer at Oráculo Comunicação on education and culture, where she develops research projects, workshops and activities related to education, culture and militancy.

Photo par Alpimages

virtual Verbier Art Summit.gif

AVIDE DE

RESSOURCES: NOTRE PAYSAGE

CULTIVÉ ET SON

IMPACT ÉCOLOGIQUE

 

En savoir plus

Carolina Caycedo.jpeg

REPENSER L'ENVIRONNEMENT À TRAVERS LA COMMUNAUTÉ ET CULTURES INDIGÈNES 

Apprendre encore plus

Page d'accueil

Page d'accueil

EN | FR

SÃO PAULO DEBATE

São Paulo Debate + live Q&A | Video by Crossmark | 57:54 mins

São Paulo Debate key summary:

  • An intersectional approach is needed to fully understand the ecological crisis.

  • We need to decolonise our knowledge. 

  •  Art can give voice to the suppressed epistemologies of black and indigenous communities.

The São Paulo Debate (57:54 mins) is moderated by Jochen Volz, 2019 Summit partner and director of Pinacoteca de São Paulo, and features:

03:54 – Djamila Ribeiro, Brazilian philosopher
06:09 – Naine Terena, indigenous artist and educator
7:23 – Panel discussion 
45:09 – Live Q&A

The São Paulo Debate discussed how giving voice to the knowledge of black and indigenous communities can contribute to a more equal and sustainable world. Instead of a hierarchical perspective, the panelists advocate for a circular view in which all aspects of existence are interconnected and mutually dependent. Art has the power to amplify alternative ways of thinking and to offer new visions for a different future.

An intersectional approach is needed to fully understand the ecological crisis, as environmental problems are connected to factors such as gender, race and class.

Djamila at 2020 Summit.jpg

Djamila Ribeiro at 2020 Verbier Art Summit

Djamila Ribeiro, one of the most influential leaders in the Afro-Brazilian women’s rights movement, invites us to frame the current ecological crisis in intersectional terms: structural oppressions that affect society intersect with one another. Therefore, the issues related to the environment are linked to other factors such as race, gender and class, as she powerfully explained in her 2020 Verbier Art Summit talk. She provides an example of intersectional analysis stating that for almost four centuries Afro-descendants have been treated like ‘commodities’ in Brazil and elsewhere

in the world. Their economic exploitation led to issues that are still being faced today. Impoverished Afro-Brazilians struggle to find proper housing, in which they have no choice but to build irregular houses in places that are often environmentally protected, contributing to the process of ‘favelisation’. Instead of implementing a housing plan that can include these populations, the government simply removes them from the protected areas, thus penalising an already vulnerable category. Instead of focusing on individual issues, Djamila suggests that we should understand that the real problem is capitalism. Historically, the owners of the means of production have been dismissive of ecological concerns. Colonialism and the economic exploitation of countries including Brazil has consequently led to environmental exploitation.

We need to decolonise our knowledge and listen to the teachings of black and indigenous communities who view human life in harmony with nature.

Naine, Jochen & Anneliek.jpg

Naine Terena, Jochen Volz and Anneliek Sijbrandij at the 2019 Verbier Art Summit

Djamila suggests that the knowledge of Afro-Brazilians is often considered ‘folkloristic’ due to prevailing colonial sentiments attached to their culture. For instance, the history of Quilombolas, black communities in Brazil who refused slavery and established independent settlements, is still invisible today. Djamila believes that in order to create a more equal and sustainable society, we should turn to the teachings of these black communities. For instance, Candomblé, a popular Afro-Brazilian religion, encourages people to live in harmony 

with nature, because natural elements like the sea are considered to be deities. It also embraces a circular view of life in which young and old generations are mutually dependent. Moreover, it is empowering for women, since in religions of African origins women are priests and thus responsible for safeguarding this ancestral knowledge. Naine Terena, an artist and educator from the Terena indigenous people of the state of Mato Grosso in Brazil, expands on this point. Similar to Afro-Brazilian knowledge, indigenous people have a holistic view of life in which all the processes of creation are embraced, which she also explained in her 2021 Summit talk. Naine claims that art is not separable from other aspects of life for indigenous people as: “To enter the museum, the process we go through is the same as we do when we reclaim our land.” Naine warns us about the increasing inclusivity of museums becoming a ‘trend’ and that we should make sure that institutions and policy makers continue to include indigenous people within their structures.

Art can give voice to the suppressed epistemologies of black and indigenous communities by communicating new truths in a profound way.

Vexoa.jpeg

Exhibition Véxoa: We know, Pinacoteca de São Paulo, 2020

The exhibition curated last October by Naine called Véxoa at Pinacoteca de São Paulo was an important milestone for indigenous representation in the arts. The exhibition is about activism and resistance and represents the values of solidarity and collectivism of indigenous people. In a world plagued by fake news, Naine states that “art is the most accessible tool for the population” because it has the power to touch people in a profound way. In her work as an art educator, she witnessed how “art prevents the emptying of our territories and our bodies.” It uses sensations to move bodies, so that they can bring out the truth that has been dormant within them. Therefore, art can become a “cure for humanity.”
Djamila agrees with Naine by adding that philosophy is complemented by art. Both can help us rethink our values by making us question our privileges. Djamila concludes by pointing out that this process of unlearning brings discomfort which is necessary for change to happen.

vexoa.jpeg

Exhibition Véxoa: We know, Pinacoteca de Sao Paulo, 2020. Photo by Levi Fanan

The newly released report The Art of Zero, created by Summit’s partner Julie’s Bicycle, is intended to prompt a conversation about climate change and visual arts. The purpose of this study is to model indicative greenhouse gas emissions of the global visual arts sector and identify opportunities for reduction. Click here to read more.   

natalie ball.jpeg

Artist Natalie Ball

In 2021, the Summit’s partner the 3-D Verbier Foundation is experimenting with a new format for their Residency Programme: an Online Residency with Native American artist Natalie Ball. From using Instagram as a sketchbook to online open discussions and virtual happenings, the Online Residency will exist in various digital formats throughout the year. Click here to read more. 

The exhibition Véxoa: We Know, curated by Naine Terena at Pinacoteca de São Paulo, is part of the museum’s intention to build a more diverse and inclusive narrative around its collection. The curatorial project discusses the representativeness of female artists, Afro-descendants and indigenous people in the museum collection and investigates the relationship between art and society.

Click here to read more. 

Adrian Lahoud talk.png

Adrian Lahoud's presentation at 2020 Verbier Art Summit

In his 2020 Verbier Art Summit talk, Adrian Lahoud spoke about the exceptional case of Australia’s Aboriginal people who presented a collective painting of their territory to evidence a historic land claim. Watch his talk here.

CURRICULUM VITAE

Djamila%20Ribeiro%202020VerbierArtSummit

Djamila Ribeiro

Djamila Ribeiro is a public intellectual, writer and philosopher, a social justice activist, and one of the most influential leaders in the Afro-Brazilian women’s rights movement. Djamila holds a Master´s Degree in Political Philosophy by the Federal University of São Paulo. She is a best-selling writer of the books Quem tem medo do Feminismo Negro? (‘Who is afraid of Black Feminism?’ 2018), Lugar de Fala (‘Place of Speech’) and Pequeno Manual Antirracista (‘Little Anti-racist Manual’). Djamila is the lead publisher of the Collection Feminismos Plurais (‘Plural Feminisms’), editor of afrodescendant writers´ works at affordable prices and with a didactical language approach. She is the founder and head of the "Sueli Carneiro Seal", which aims to publish black women from Latin America and the Caribbean. Recently she was awarded a Prince Claus Award for outstanding achievement in the field of culture and development.

Photo by Alpimages

Jochen%20Volz%20Portrait%20%C2%A9FREDERI

Jochen Volz

Jochen Volz is the General Director of the Pinacoteca de São Paulo. In 2017, he was the curator of the Brazilian Pavilion for the 53rd Biennale di Venezia. He was the curator of the 32nd Bienal de São Paulo in 2016. He served as Head of Programmes at the Serpentine Galleries in London (2012-2015); Artistic Director at Instituto Inhotim (2005-2012); and curator at Portikus in Frankfurt (2001-2004). Volz was co-curator of the international exhibition of the 53rd Bienal de Veneza (2009) and the 1st Aichi Triennial in Nagoya (2010) and guest curator of the 27th Bienal de São Paulo (2006), besides having contributed to other exhibitions throughout the world. He holds a masters in art history, communication and pedagogy by the Humboldt University in Berlin (1998). Lives in São Paulo.

Photo by Alpimages

Naine%20Terena%20and%20Teo%20de%20Mirand

Naine Terena

Naine Terena belongs to the Terena indigenous people of the state of Mato Grosso do Sul.  She has a doctorate (PhD) in education, a Master’s degree in Art and a degree in Social Communication. Terena received a Postdoctoral fellowship in education (July 2015) at Lêtece—UFMT and currently lectures at the Catholic University of Mato Grosso in the areas of Social Communication and Indigenous Education.  She is a Cultural/Artist Producer at Oráculo Comunicação on education and culture, where she develops research projects, workshops and activities related to education, culture and militancy.

Photo by Alpimages

virtual Verbier Art Summit.gif

RESOURCE HUNGRY: OUR CULTURED

LANDSCAPE AND ITS ECOLOGICAL IMPACT

Learn more

Carolina Caycedo.jpeg

 

RETHINKING THE ENVIRONMENT THROUGH COMMUNITY AND INDIGENOUS KNOWLEDGE

Learn more

Return to the home page

Home